3 May – World Press Freedom Day

world-press-freedom-day-is-being-observed-today-1462244655-5010World Press Freedom Day was proclaimed by the UN General Assembly in December 1993, following the recommendation of UNESCO’s General Conference. Since then, 3 May, the anniversary of the Declaration of Windhoek is celebrated worldwide as World Press Freedom Day. It is an opportunity to: celebrate the fundamental principles of press freedom; assess the state of press freedom throughout the world; defend the media from attacks on their independence; and pay tribute to journalists who have lost their lives in the line of duty.

press_freedom_1In 2016, World Press Freedom Day coincides with three important milestones:

  • – The 250th anniversary of the world’s first freedom of information law, covering both modern-day Sweden and Finland
  • – The 25th anniversary of the adoption of the Windhoek Declaration of press freedom principles
  • – The year 2016 is also the first year of the 15 year life-cycle of the new Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)

This year’s WPFD focuses on three different aspects of press freedom:

  • freedom of information as a fundamental freedom and as a human right
  • protecting press freedom from censorship and surveillance overreach
  • ensuring safety for journalism online and offline

Read more about this year’s themes in the concept note PDF document

UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize

The annual UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize ceremony will take place on 3 May 2016 in Helsinki, Finland. The winner is Khadija Ismayilova, an investigative journalist from Azerbaijan.



What Next?

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Submit Comment


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.